Updates·October 12, 2026, 00:30

How Grok is split up: Free, $30 or a business plan

AI-generated from the sources listed, with automated source checks.

Grok is free to use for chat and voice conversations, but image and video generation require a paid plan, according to Engadget. The main paid plan, SuperGrok, costs $30 a month.

AI-generated image

If you want to try the AI assistant Grok, you can start without paying. There is a free plan, and several paid tiers above it. Here is the overview, as laid out by Engadget and in the guide from Dupple.

What you get for free

According to Engadget, the free plan includes regular chats, voice conversations and access to some search features on the web and on X. Dupple describes it as access to Chat and Voice with limits that reset on their own schedule.

Usage is limited. According to Engadget, frequent users quickly run into the caps. SpaceXAI does not disclose how many messages you can send, Dupple says. Older figures of 10 requests every two hours date from late 2024, according to Dupple, and are outdated.

Engadget writes that image and video generation are not included in the free version but are reserved for paid tools. Dupple writes that all generated images and videos get a permanent Grok watermark that cannot be removed. It is unclear whether free output may be used for commercial purposes.

What you get when you pay

SuperGrok is the main consumer plan and costs $30 a month. According to Engadget, it offers a higher usage cap, longer conversations, advanced reasoning models (models that think more step by step), image and video generation, and coding features.

SuperGrok Heavy is a pricier plan for heavy users. Engadget notes that it bundles X Premium with expanded Grok access.

For companies, there are Business and Enterprise plans with centralized billing, security controls or API usage. An API is a technical access point that lets other programs use Grok.

Changes and API pricing

Dupple reports that starting in June 2026, paying users began to be moved to a single weekly usage pool shared across products. It is not stated whether the free limits were changed, but the free plan still exists.

API usage is billed separately. According to Dupple, Grok 4.7 costs $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens. Tokens are the small chunks of text that the AI model reads and writes.

Engadget's advice

Engadget recommends starting with the free version and only upgrading if you need extended reasoning or higher-quality, higher-volume image generation.

Sources

Found via Fello AI

More on this topic

Get the week's AI news in your inbox

Choose your level, topics and length. One email a week, unsubscribe at any time.

Subscribe to Promptly Newsletter